Jul 30, 2018

IT'IS Researcher Wins IEC "1906 Award"

IT'IS Foundation researcher Dr. Andreas Christ has been named by the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) as a recipient of the 2018 "1906 Award", in recognition of his exceptional achievements in the development of international standards.

The 1906 Award is named for the year the IEC was founded and is conferred on IEC experts internationally in recognition of work considered fundamental to the IEC or exceptional and recent achievements relevant to and advancing the work of the IEC.

Every year, the IEC issues a call for nominations for the award to all National Committees, chairmen and secretaries of Technical Committees (TC), and to the chairmen of the Conformity Assessment (CA) Systems. Each year, a maximum of five 1906 awardees per TC are chosen, and the corresponding NC President announces and confers the award at a locally organized national event.

Andreas has been recognized for his work in TC106 and TC34 Subcommittee 2, under the auspices of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), to develop the first standardized procedures for the application of numerical techniques for the assessment of the peak spatial average specific absorption rate (SAR) in users of wireless communication devices. The protocols formulated are codified in the IEEE/IEC International Standard 62704 – Determining the peak spatial-average specific absorption rate (SAR) in the human body from wireless communications devices, 30 MHz to 6 GHz, intended for use by government agencies, manufacturers of wireless communication devices, and wireless service providers to certify that emissions of devices are within the SAR limits defined in the standards.

Jörg Weber, the Secretary General of Electrosuisse (CES) announced the award in July, and the award is to be presented to Andreas at a ceremony to be held in November 2018.

Congratulations Andreas!