Jun 9, 2017

Manuel Murbach Wins Arthur Pilla Young Scientist Award at BioEM2017

Manuel Murbach, project leader at the IT’IS Foundation, was recently named the Arthur Pilla Young Scientist at BioEM2017, the joint annual meeting of BEMS and EBEA, in Hangzhou, China June 5 – 9, 2017.

Manuel was recognized for his platform presentation entitled "MRI radiofrequency exposure estimation in morphed patient anatomies", in which he described the use of novel morphing techniques to regionally shrink and expand tissues to investigate the effect of varying muscle and fat content on the absorption of radiofrequency energy during magnetic resonance imaging. Manuel's paper was co-authored by Bryn Lloyd, Esra Neufeld, and Niels Kuster of the IT'IS Foundation.

Manuel is the second recipient of the Arthur Pilla Young Scientist Award, an annual prize announced at the yearly BioEM meeting. The award is sponsored by the Arthur A. Pilla Research Foundation, to honor Dr. Pilla (1935 - 2015), pioneering bioelectrochemist and global expert on non-invasive electrotherapeutics. In addition to a commemorative certificate, this year's prize included a cash award of USD 1200.

Congratulations Manuel!


Manuel being congratulated by Dr. Marnus Van Wyk, Bioelectromagnetics Society Board Member.